Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The 5 Precepts

FrankjFrankj Colorado, USA Explorer

Hello everyone. I am new to Buddhism and I have a lot to learn and discover and in realizing this I also have a lot of questions. My first one is about the 5 Precepts. What happens or what could happen if we do not follow the 5 Precepts as we should? For example, what if I know a lie will cause suffering and harm to myself or others and I still lie? What is I commit adultery? Is the punishment or ill affects the same when it comes to breaking any of the Precepts. For example, stealing isn't as bad as killing an animal. Or, are there equal ill-effects in breaking any of the Precepts?

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited June 2018

I think one reason to keep them is that we don't know what the results will be. So like if an animal has rabies and is damaging things maybe kill it is a good idea where even a common person might guess that more good would come of killing the animal than letting it rampage. But strictly speaking only a Buddha might know the result of killing that animal or another way to say that is only an omniscient being would know all of the consequences. And only a Buddha would know that there is no 'entity' of an animal rampaging and nobody that is harmed by the rampage is an entity. Rather there is only the play of mind anywhere whether in a dream or in reality and whatever happens as in pleasure or pain or whatever. But only omniscient being knows consequences of every break of precept and as Federica says we are punished by our actions rather than for them. Hope I explained that correctly.