Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation on Impermanence

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,
Is there any specific meditation which is called 'Meditation on Impermanence' like the way we have zazen, Mahamudra etc? How to meditate on impermanence?
How to bring the feeling that we will die more close to us, than just as an intellectual idea we know about? Any information please. Thanks.

Comments

• @misecmisc1 said:
    Hi All,
    Is there any specific meditation which is called 'Meditation on Impermanence' like the way we have zazen, Mahamudra etc? How to meditate on impermanence?
    How to bring the feeling that we will die more close to us, than just as an intellectual idea we know about? Any information please. Thanks.

Go attend the funerals of those who are near and dear, friends and relatives, acquantances.

There is a Burmese saying, “One visit to a funeral is better than ten visits to the monastery.”

"There are these five facts that one should reflect on often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained. Which five?

"'I am subject to aging, have not gone beyond aging.' This is the first fact that one should reflect on often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

"'I am subject to illness, have not gone beyond illness.' ...

"'I am subject to death, have not gone beyond death.' ...

"'I will grow different, separate from all that is dear and appealing to me.' ...

https://www.accesstoinsight.org/ati/tipitaka/an/an05/an05.057.than.html

misecmisc1elcra1goBuddhadragon