Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation and lack of sleepzZz....

elcra1goelcra1go Edinburgh, Scotland Explorer

Hello all, hope all is well x
I have been meditating everyday for about 14 months now, recently, say the past two months I have struggled to get a good nights sleep. Prior to this I found I was sleeping very well, since starting to meditate...
I find that I am aware of my thoughts throughout the night- I remember Yonger Mingyur Rinpoche, saying don't worry If you notice you are thinking more, you are not, you are just aware that you are thinking... I am not tired in the morning and feel refreshed- but it feels like have been awake ALL night.
I just would like to know if anyone has experienced similar?

X

Comments

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran

I remember hearing somewhere that the research on meditation and sleep shows that it helps people fall asleep. But there are two types of insomnia, falling asleep and staying asleep. The research on meditation in regards to staying asleep isn't very good but it points to meditation not helping that type of insomnia.