Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Query on rebirth

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,
A query on rebirth - Is there some sutra/sutta or some teaching somewhere in Buddhism, which tells which actions we should do in order that we have a high chance to get reborn as a human being in next life? I understand since the working of karma is complex and we do not know how much backlog of bad karma we have, but still raising this query that how to have a good chance of being reborn as a human being. It is obvious that we should do good karma to get a good rebirth - but a good rebirth in a God realm is not really a good rebirth, so how to make sure that if we do lots of good karma, then we can get rebirth as a human being and not as a God. Any specific teaching in this regard in any tradition of Buddhism, please? Any information here please. Thanks.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited June 2018

First of all, the Realms are largely viewed to be allegorical - they are more States of Mind than actual, existent physical Realms. And most of us visit at least three of those realms every day, sometimes more.
    We are all 'Gods', we are all 'Hungry Ghosts' we are all 'Animals' and we all exist and abide in those realms, on a daily basis. Depending on a person's decision, they can live in just one realm more than others....

Secondly, the ONLY Kamma that matters is the Kamma you generate now. Forget past Kamma. You can't change that, you can only improve on it.