Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation Problem

I have been meditating on and off for twenty four years. Observing or counting breaths has always been my preferred method. This year I have not been able to meditate at all, lots of opportunity but it just does not happen.

I recently spent two weeks at a beautiful place with a meditation room and it was a complete waste of time. I tried switching to the metta bhavana method without luck. My usual methods seem to act as a powerful stimulant and I experience 'monkey mind' like never before. Even my body gets fidgety and that is new for me.

Life is pretty good at the moment, no special stress or anxiety so I am at a complete loss. Any advice anybody?

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Don't meditate. Let it be for a while. Actively avoid it. Then, come back to it in a year or so. I'm not kidding.

yagrBunksrocalaKundo
  • BunksBunks Australia Veteran

Agree with @federica - take a break and come back to it later. Good teaching in Anicca.....

And don't beat yourself up about it!!

• ShoshinShoshin No one in particular Nowhere Special Veteran

@rocala said:
    I have been meditating on and off for twenty four years. Observing or counting breaths has always been my preferred method. This year I have not been able to meditate at all, lots of opportunity but it just does not happen.
    Life is pretty good at the moment, no special stress or anxiety so I am at a complete loss. Any advice anybody?