Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Zazen or Mahahudra?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited October 2018 in Meditation

Hi All,
Has anyone tried mixing Zazen and Mahamudra? I am not asking of mixing 2 traditions, with their own set of spiritual teachings and also understand that the whole tradition needs to be followed to see if it works for an individual, but still from the point of view of meditation, I find Zazen and Mahamudra almost similar as both say to sit and do nothing - not even try to observe anything - am I correct here? Your thoughts please. Thanks.

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited October 2018

I wouldn't say the Mahamudra meditation is to sit and do nothing.

What I would say is that a teacher gives hints about meditation and then the student asks the teacher questions. So Mahamudra isn't a set of instructions rather the teacher might ask questions like "what color is your mind"? And then the student responds somehow and the teacher listens and observes the student to see how the student is putting it in their own words what they are experiencing.

For you I might work on understanding your own experience of meditation and explaining it to others rather than trying different instructions. Just pick any instruction and try to understand your own experience and explain it to others. I think you would be bound to go forward if you did that? Like an honest experience of your meditation experience I think others can connect to that and relate.