Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Back to basics

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2018 in Meditation

Hi All,
After being registered on this website for 7 years, I am asking a question regarding the basics of meditation (based on the type of stupid person I am), so the question is that - What should be done while meditating? If the answer comes to be aware, then the next question is - do we need to be aware of what is happening - or - just aware? The difference between these two is that in order to do the first, we can not be exactly in the present moment - to explain, if we observed a sound arose and then ceased, we would be thinking about that phenomenon and not be in present moment because theoretically the present moment arises and ceases simultaneously, in a way that theoretically the present moment does not exist. If the answer to the second question is the second option to be just aware but not aware of anything from an analyzing perspective of our brain, then what difference is there between relaxing while listening to music (and not thinking about anything rather just listening to music) and doing meditation? Thanks.
By the way, Happy Diwali to everybody.

ShoshinJeroenelcra1go

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited November 2018

Hi All,
    I watched 2 you tube videos on the teachings of Vedanta and found them insightful, so thought of sharing with you all :

Thanks.

To me, Vedanta seems very similar to Zen. To me, what is referred to as Turiya or the fourth state seems similar to the True Self in Zen.