Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Queries on meditation

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited October 2018 in Meditation

Hi All,
2 queries please:
1. Is the desire to know the greatest desire? I have read at few places that lust is the greatest desire - I agree to it, since I also feel it is a strong force, since I am a lustful person. But I am noticing that desire to know is also strong. When I try to just being in an informal meditation, just being in present moment, then I notice that my mind tries to notice things as to how they are proceeding like which sound just arose, which changes are occurring in visual field etc. So in a way, it is not just being, rather trying to know what I am experiencing in present moment. So what should I try to do? Any suggestions. Thanks.
2. The second query is related to the above that if I just try to relax in present moment, not specially noting what is going on, then is this a correct way to meditate? How long should I try to do it and where would it lead to, or, is it just passing of time? Your suggestions please. Thanks.

person

Comments