Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Death and spiritual practice

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,
Even though I theoretically understand that I may die, but this understanding remains as a thing I know in my brain, but unless I deliberately think about it this thing does not even come to my mind. How to deepen this understanding? Moreover, the urge to know what is the ultimate truth does not even come to my mind. Even when I theoretically think that I may die, then the next thought comes as so what - even question like where I will go after my death does not come to my mind. So how was it that Siddhartha saw one dead body in his life and it moved him internally so deeply that he decided to renounce everything in his life by leaving his palace and going alone to a forest to become a saint.
So what to do to deepen this understanding of death and impermanence in my life? Also how to arise the determination to put the effort needed to realize ultimate truth? Thanks.

Comments

• JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran
    edited November 2018

Well you are in India so you have burning ghats and public cremations, you can spend time there to truly get acquainted with the impermanence of the body.

I remember when I was on holiday in India I had a little apartment which had a sidelong view on the river and the burning ghats in that town, it was quite an experience.