Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Getting somewhere or not

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Is the practice about getting somewhere or not getting somewhere? What's your take on it? For me, having an idea of getting somewhere or achieving something helps but when the output in real life seems to be no transformation, it eventually leads to my frustration. But without an idea of going somewhere or to achieve something, then why practice at the first place?

Comments

• ZenshinZenshin Veteran East Midlands UK Veteran

You practice to condition your mind to go nowhere. Does a dog have Buddha nature? Mu.

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited March 2019

We go to non-grasping of: pleasure, how things are in this life, and even peace. Refuge and study of the dharma. But it's complicated because why wouldn't we just enjoy pleasure and peace and things? Does pleasure have a defect? And particularly does attachement to pleasure have a defect? Can we have things just the way they are forever?

Zenshinmisecmisc1person
  • ZenshinZenshin Veteran East Midlands UK Veteran

@misemisc1, sorry I didn't express myself very well I haven't been awake very long and haven't had my full morning ration of coffee and cigarettes yet! Plus I had my schizophrenia depot a couple of days ago, several days late and I have just realised how tranqed I am. No bloody wonder I can't hold down a job due to sedation!