Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Grasping and rejecting

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited March 2019 in Buddhism Basics

What exactly is meant by grasping and rejecting, when in the teachings we see things written like - mind grasping at phenomena is mind in birth and death. mind not grasping at phenomena is mind in suchness.

Is it something like when I see a chair in my house, then I say that - It is a chair - is this grasping (as I call it as a chair and not as a table)? Or saying - It is my chair - is this grasping?

Comments

• KundoKundo Sydney, Australia Veteran

Seriously?

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited March 2019

@Kundo said:
    Seriously?

Yes. Also how can a lay person living a family life become free from grasping? And can a lay person live a family life after becoming free from grasping?

• ShoshinShoshin No one in particular Nowhere Special Veteran

@misecmisc1 said:

Nutshell answers....

Yes. Also how can a lay person living a family life become free from grasping?

Yes

And can a lay person live a family life after becoming free from grasping?

Yes

.....And how this is done..... is up to YOU to find out :) through experiential understanding...