Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Surrender

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2019 in Philosophy

How important is surrender in your spiritual practice? I watched the below insightful video so thought of sharing with you all:

What are your views regarding the above video?
Also just to clarify - I read in some posts that I do not follow the suggestions of members of this website, so just to clarify - I value your suggestions and that is why I ask for it and then I follow or not follow depending on other things.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

No,you never follow, because you procrastinate, and find excuses to not follow, because you choose to not exercise the necessary willpower.
    Thank you for valuing our suggestions. However, there will come a point where we may well cease putting them forward altogether.
    If, as your profile tells us, you are a Hindu, it begs the question, which way are you going, exactly?

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited April 2019

The video is founded on a belief in God. Giving up the control of your life to a higher being, would, in a Buddhist's eyes, a resignation of skill, and a wrong view.
    Surrendering puts everything "out there" whereas with Buddhism, YOU are responsible. The buck stops here.
    It's very 'New Agey'...

"Reality is in full consciousness of itself..."