Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Confusion on how to meditate

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2019 in Meditation

With nearly 8 years studying and trying to meditate in an on and off mode with gaps of missing few days/weeks of no sitting meditation, I have learnt a little about the theoretical techniques of how to meditate like anapanasati (mindfulness of breathing), zazen (just sit and do nothing, not even trying to observe anything), Mahamudra meditation (just relax and do nothing like allowing the muddy water to settle the mud by itself - seems to me like similar to zazen), awareness meditation (which Mingyur Rinpoche teaches in some youtube videos where the basic idea is to just be aware with one sense organ like ear and mind together and just be aware of its sense object like sound) - if my theoretical understanding of any of these meditation techniques is incorrect, then please correct it. Thanks.
Then there is metta meditation, meditation on death, tonglen meditation.
Now when I try to sit in meditation, my mind seems to be confused as to which meditation should I do - like for example, when I sit then should I try to observe my breathing at my nose or should I observe my stomach rising and falling?