Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Two Questions please?

edited June 2009 in Meditation
When I practice Mindful breathing, I find myself yawning and not really able to control my breathing. I am brand new to this, so any tips are very much appreciated.
Also, I want so badly to practice "Touch The Earth" but I have very very bad knees and it is just too painful for me to get down.

Comments

• GlowGlow Veteran
    edited May 2009
    In mindfulness of breathing practice, you don't need to control the breath but just let your attention rest on it gently. The breath will change, become shallower or more tense or more relaxed and deep from moment to moment. Your job is simply to experience it. The Buddha even mentions observing different qualities of breathing in the Anapanasati Sutta: "Breathing in a long breath, know that you are breathing in a long breath. Breathing in a short breath, know that you are breathing in a short breath."

The traditional system of breath meditation begins with first becoming aware of the body. Just get a sense of the body - how it's situated, your posture, what it feels like to be alive. Notice the natural straightness of the body. It's important to have a posture that is comfortable for you and does not cause you to expend too much energy. If sitting cross-legged is painful, you have the option of using a chair.