Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

sacred art X fine arts

Hi ,

I am a painter and recently have been painting some inspired Buddhist art. For example I did a painting of white Tara but trying a contemporary approach or did some lino cuts of deities. I gave as gift to some people in the sangha prints of the deities I know they do their practice. Dispite the working being "well done" I was very criticized for not using the sacred proportion used for thangkas.

the style of a thangka is a mix of chinese and indian style for what I can see (forgive me if wrong).

My question is: If I do my art work using Da Vinci's proportion or any contemporary approach and/or technique to represent Buddhist deities or symbols does it invalidate the "spirituality" or sacredness of my work?

Thanks in advance if you took the time to read my question.
love,

"Oceano de Sabedoria"

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited July 2010
    No.
    Your art is a blend of worship and self-expression.

You think Michaelangelo was criticised for portraying Jesus and the Madonna as western idealised beings rather than the Middle Eastern people they purportedly were?

Go the way your artistic leanings take you.

Picasso had no problem putting a person's eyes both on one side of the face.
    I would suggest you feel equally relaxed within your personal interpretations, also.
  • edited July 2010
    Federica,