Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and Conflict Resolution?

edited August 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hi everyone,

I'm agnostic and I've been studying Buddhism for a few months now. By no means have I gone in to much detail, but I've become interested with the teachings and philosophy of Buddhism. There is one topic though, that I cannot understand and that is conflict resolution. I was wondering if someone could shed some light on the topic.

Still being at school, I have had a friend come and talk to me about problems they are having with their friends. For example, trouble with gossip, etc. To complicate matters, the people that are doing this are what she believes to be her friends, as such, she does not want to disregard them completely. Personally, if it was me I would not let their insults get to me, and probably just forget about them, but she does not want to do this, so it got me thinking about conflict resolution. As yet, I have not been able to offer and particularly good advice, so I would like to know the Buddhist perspective. How can one truly resolve conflict while having the buddhist mindset?

Comments

• mugzymugzy Veteran
    edited August 2010
    I don't know that there's any particular difference between a Buddhist approach to conflict resolution versus a non-Buddhist one. Everything is relative to the situation, so there's no one answer that fits every scenario. Every situation would be different. In any case, I would imagine that most people would try to come to a peaceful outcome of any given problem.