Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Birthdays?

WillowberryWillowberry Explorer
edited March 2011 in Buddhism Basics

Do Buddhist celebrate birthdays?

If you do not exactly "celebrate" it, what do you do to acknowledge your childrens or loved ones day of birth?

Comments

• why would buddhists not celebrate birthdays?!
  • I am not sure... it feels selfish... however it may be expectations surrounding it like presents, birthday wishes & cake etc. Almost feeling more important or special for a day, I didnt know if that contradicted anything.

I am still very new to buddhism

:)
  • as long as you don't get drunk or something like that, it is fine.
  • I am a buddhist, and I celebrate my birthday. There are buddhist marriages and funerals, many many holidays in the buddhist calendar. But do monks and nuns celebrate their birthdays, I honestly do not know.
  • Ha :) too pregnant for all that Im afraid.

Thanks for your help Vincenzi!
  • But do monks and nuns celebrate their birthdays, I honestly do not know.
    Good question!
  • I'm not a buddhist and I don't really celebrate my birthday. But my family usually does so in my stead...
  • I too do not celebrate my birthdays neither does my husband, we are trying to decide how to approach our daughters birthdays, she is still young enough to have no impressions of what it should be like.

I do not want to make it about getting things, and was curious about how others celebrate theres.
  • VincenziVincenzi Veteran
    edited March 2011
    what do people celebrate, that a year ended or starting a new year of life?