Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist view on the Military

edited September 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I've already posted about how I am new to Buddhism and so on and so forth.
However, a question that I can't get out of my mind is what are the Buddhist views on the Military? I'm currently in the Air Force, and I know that everyday when I do my job that inadvertly I assist in the harming of others...perhaps not to ease the suffering of anyone at all. What are the views on this?

Comments

• Strictly speaking, I would say that military service wouldn't qualify as Right Livelihood, part of the Buddha's Eight-fold Path. I've served in the military myself, but that was prior to developing a serious interest in Buddhism. Personally, I can't bring myself to condemn anyone who serves honorably, but you'll need to consider your conscience and your beliefs carefully before deciding what path to follow. Here is a resource you might find useful:

http://buddhistmilitarysangha.blogspot.com/

Alan
  • Hi kshamblin ,

This question is addressed in this talk :

" How does one interpret the first precept in everyday life? Is being a Buddhist and a soldier mutually exclusive? Are there instances when one can perform a 'mercy' killing and not attract negative results?"
  • JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited September 2011