Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

mantras and that fine line of preeching?!? (am I reading to far into this?)

edited October 2011 in Sanghas
firstly sorry if i have posted this in the wrong section.

I currently do tai chi/qi gong and yoga I have done so for about a year now. I have two different teachers for each part my tai chi instructor is a daoist and my yoga teacher is hindu. Both know that I am studying Buddhism and that I am perfecting my meditation skills (both run a meditation cool down session) however oddly in the past few weeks I'd say months even there has been an additional element of Chanting added to the yoga class and then a prayer section too.

I've sat them out and never joined in as I dont know what I am saying or who im praying too. So i spent a few weeks doing this in the class for a few weeks. The instructor called me aside today and asked me why i wouldnt chant and when I said im not sure what I am saying or praying too he passed me a translation. I mentioned that I will have a read off the document but he was insisting that I learnt the verses.

Help, how do I diplomatically say no. Im in two minds about where I stand with Buddhism vs God issues as it is but this instructor is adding elements of chanting into the lessons. I discussed this briefly with my tai chi instructor and he also thought it sounds a bit like preeching!

Comments

• it's just words.

you could chant shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit.
    or god god god god god
    or buddha buddha buddha buddha buddha buddha
    they are empty, other than what you project onto it.