Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Im new to this, all I seem to read about with Buddhism is negative stuff??

edited August 2012 in Buddhism Basics
I know its not meant to be like that, but thats the message I seem to get, life is suffering, you shouldnt enjoy any pleasure or its called attachment and its wrong ect. Dont have sex for pleasure, dont drink beer, dont do this , dont do that, i thought Buddhism would lead me to a happy life and make me a calmer , stronger, peacefull person , but all i read is dont dont dont, wheres the advise, why is it so difficult to find any advise, or a teacher, ok rant over. im sur eim just the missing the point, or hope iam.

Comments

• Well, I could easily see how it comes off that way. I'm not a "Buddhist," per say, but I understand it, for the most part.

Buddhism is about the alleviation of human suffering. Well, what is suffering? Shinzen Young, a brilliant meditator and teacher, says that suffering can be broken down into a very easy algorithm:
    pain + resistance to pain = suffering
    or
    pleasure + clinging to pleasure = suffering
    We can't always DECREASE pain or INCREASE pleasure. However, we can train ourselves to decrease our RESISTANCE or CRAVING toward these experiences. That is what Buddhism is: learning to experience pain without aversion, or pleasure without clinging.

No one says you HAVE to stop drinking. But, it tends to benefit you on the path of alleviating your own suffering to do so.

...and who the hell says you can't have sex for pleasure?
  • CloudCloud Veteran