Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Reincarnation

I am new to buddhism and I am not sure if I believe in reincarnation. I mean, it makes sense to me - by its very nature, the earth recycles and it is a fact of science that matter (including the human spirit) cannot be destroyed. When you extinguish a flame in water, the energy is not automatically gone - it has made the water slightly warmer than before. Do all Buddhists believe in reincarnation? Do you? Why or why not?

Comments

• vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    You're probably going to be criticized for calling it "reincarnation" rather than "rebirth".

But to answer your question. There are those who believe in the concept, those who don't, and those of us who are open-minded but seek some kind of evidence.
  • BhikkhuJayasaraBhikkhuJayasara Bhikkhu Veteran
    edited December 2012
    Buddhists do not believe in a soul... just compounds that come together through causes and conditions.. it is this that "becomes" again.

reincarnation is from the Hindus and means the incarnation of a soul to another body. we use the term "becoming" or "re-becoming" to differentiate. It on the surface seems to be a semantics issue and it can be as long as a person knows the difference.

as for belief in re-becoming.. in the Kalama sutta the Buddha said that if there is no rebirth.. the practice brings benefits here and now in this life.. and if there is rebirth, then you are doubly rewarded. If you don't "believe" in re-becoming, then shelf it. They say you can get to the point where you see past lives and such, then it will be " truth" and not " belief".