Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism in Japan (日本)

edited August 2006 in Buddhism Today
I've had a request to start a Buddhism in Japan thread so here it is!

I must point out though that I am in no way an authority on the subject of Buddhism in Japan! I'm just a Dharma student living here and observing the vast and minute differences between my life in the UK and my life here. I will also try to give some insight into the subtle way in which Buddhism is an everyday part of life here and the different attitudes and situations this creates.

So feel free to ask me questions and I will try my hardest to answer them!

がんばります!I will try my hardest!

Comments

• edited June 2006
    To start the ball rolling I will describe one of my favourite parts of the culture over here that is definately related to the influence that Buddhism has had.

It is a fairly simple thing: the bow.

Being Buddhists, the bow is something very symbolic in our practise we find it in all traditions and it is indispensable to our way of life. In order to truely bow we must push past and through (what isn't really there) - the 'I'. When this is done the act is indeed sacred and the exchange deep and profound.