Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist Schools

edited July 2006 in Buddhism Today
For those of you that know I teach, no, i am not letting the chillens run wild today. I have the day off which has allowed me to catch up on reading.

I am still learning about the three major schools of Buddhism: Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana.

I understand the main differences. I see great things in all. I would like to pick one and focus on it, perhaps join a local sangha...though I would have to drive 1.5 hours!
I am curious about your experiences and attractions to your choice. I know many are following Zen.

What holds me back is: I like Dzogchen ( I have read many of Lama Surya Das's books). But I am fascinated with the Theravada history, Pali. I have read that Tantric practices are kept from those not initiated. So am I missing out on stuff?

confused.....:scratch:

Comments

• edited May 2006
    I might have it wrong, but I believe that Dzogchen is in Zen as well...just got at differently.

The thing about Vajrajana is the devotion to guru. Are you interested in viewing another human being as a diety as a practice to realize your own inner guru?
  • edited May 2006
    Dzogchen is linked to Zen...but as you said, different.

To answer your question, no...I would like to have a teacher, but not a guru.
  • MichelleMichelle Explorer
    edited May 2006
    I just emailed ZenMonk about this yesterday. How does one decide which school to follow?
    I am reading one of Lama Surya Das's books right now - but am still undecided about which path is right for me.

Maybe we can figure this out together.

Namaste,