Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Zen koans - please help me to understand it

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2013 in Buddhism Basics
Hi All,

yesterday i thought of seeing what Zen koans are like and what Zen says about its koans - so i searched about it on internet - i found that it is said that these koans should not be logically tried to solve. also it is said that Zen Buddhism says that the enlightenment can happen at any moment in solving the zen koan and do not need a long meditative process to realize it. also Zen says that to solve the koans, it is needed to just meditate on the koan and the answer shall get revealed.

but how can this happen, do we need to think about the koan in meditation, but then that shall be thinking and getting entangled in thinking, which would not help in making the mind calm.

so anybody having any experience with Zen Buddhism and can help me to understand the above statements - because all the above statements seem like a puzzle to me, which i am not able to understand.

Also, i saw the below koan, which i did not understand completely, so can anyone help me to understand the below Zen koan:
Nansen saw the monks of the eastern and western halls fighting over a cat. He seized the cat and told the monks: `If any of you say a good word, you can save the cat.'
No one answered. So Nansen boldly cut the cat in two pieces.
That evening Joshu returned and Nansen told him about this. Joshu removed his sandals and, placing them on his head, walked out.
Nansen said: `If you had been there, you could have saved the cat.'

Please suggest. Thanks in advance.