Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Sitting posture - disaster :(

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2013 in Meditation
Hi All,

After sitting in full lotus position in my meditation for the last 1.5 years, few day back i found a link http://zenmontpellier.voila.net/eng/lotus/lotuseng.html posted in a comment by @Invincible_summer in another thread. Going through this link, i found that i have been sitting as shown in figure 13b - which is incorrect - though it was comfortable for me, only numbness occurred in my legs after some duration. Now i have been trying to sit in figure 13a - for that i am doing figure 11 as an exercise and then trying to sit in figure 13a. But it is causing much pain in my legs in sitting in figure 13a, as i try to put the portion from ankle to top of foot at right angles to other leg, as shown in figure 13a, and not in parallel as shown in figure 13b. within five minutes or even less time, a slight pain is starting as soon as i sit in figure 13a and it continues on and on, until numbness also starts along with pain and at that time, i change my sitting posture as we sit in normal sitting to relax my legs.

Also, after my sitting duration in figure 13a, i am finding there is some pain in both my legs during the whole day - this thing has started from the last few days and it is continuing till today, since i am trying for sitting in figure 13a these days.

So question here- does sitting in figure 13b for nearly 1.5 years has hurt my legs already?