Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is your job wholesome?

In Buddhism, it is said that there is wholesome and unwholesome way of earning a living. Earning a living by killing animals for example is not wholesome and not encouraged. What types of jobs do you suppose is wholesome or unwholesome? Is your job wholesome?

Comments

• Wisdom23Wisdom23 Veteran
    I work in education, so i think that is pretty wholesome.
    riverflowvinlynBunksNiesje
  • I do clerical work at a hospital in the US. I'm not sure how I'd feel about working for an insurance company however...
  • JimyoJimyo Explorer
    I keep my friends who work on the railway safe by planning their work properly and in the bigger picture, everyone who travels on the track I cover. It's the one thing I focus on when I'm having a bad day.
    lobstercvalueNiesje
  • seeker242seeker242 Zen Florida, USA Veteran
    footiam said:

In Buddhism, it is said that there is wholesome and unwholesome way of earning a living. Earning a living by killing animals for example is not wholesome and not encouraged. What types of jobs do you suppose is wholesome or unwholesome? Is your job wholesome?

If I recall correctly, any job that is not unwholesome, is by default wholesome. I think any job that would cause you to break precepts, or cause or support others doing something that would break precepts, even if they haven't taken them and even if they aren't Buddhist, would be unwholesome. :)

• ericcris10senericcris10sen Veteran
    edited May 2013