Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to overcome addiction of internet,social media and hate?

rohitrohit Maharrashtra Veteran
What one should do to overcome addiction of social media and religious or political debate.
I am experiencing that lot of time is being wasted in addiction of internet that have no time to exersize or research work in my domain.
please help.

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    on internet, do not open those links, which can lead you there, where you don't want to go.
    rohit
  • vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    If that's the way you feel, there's an on-off switch, then go out and do something more active.
    rohitZeroKundo
  • Not sure if there's any secret trick to it. In general, though, quitting something involves really wanting to quit. Not just actually having an abstract idea that you 'should' quit, but a real sense of frustration with the negative activity. You have to 'feel' its shitty effect on you, not just intellectually acknowledge it.

As for hatred - identify its source. Hatred has been a lifelong problem for me. Over the last decade, I've come to recognize it as a kind of inversion of my love... Or rather, it's the byproduct of my sense that the things I love in this world are perpetually threatened. Recognizing this, I'm able to transform it from despair and hatred into something less toxic. I'm a lot better at picking my battles (on the internet and in my personal life) as well.
    anataman
  • NevermindNevermind Bitter & Hateful Veteran
    I'm not sure, but we can debate about it.
    BhikkhuJayasaraKundorohit