Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Animals

Hi, I am new to Buddhism and am learning day by day through books and podcast,s of the Dalia Lama. One really important thing which has been puzzling me about the life Animals is ' why do some animals seem to exist only for the purpose of feeding others ' can anyone help me please ? It really bothers me when I see programs of animals being eaten by other,s, it upset,s me and I think about it for hours later. It has come to the point now when I can,t watch wild life. Help please.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    Are you talking about humans eating animals - or animals eating other animals?
  • Thank you for replying, animals eating animals. It hurts me so much.
    lobster
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    Some animals are carnivores, some are omnivores, some are vegetarian.
    It is what it is.
    You can't change that.
    That's the way life - and nature - plays out.

There is nothing you can do to change that.
    This is the only way some animals can exist.
    This is the way they're made.
    Carnivores in the wild, can't be converted to vegetarianism.
    You have to understand that every creature is a link in 'the food Chain'.

Really, if you don't mind me saying so, you need to develop a thicker skin.
    This kind of sensitivity is actually not good for you.
    Truly.