Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Absolute Beginner with a few (many) questions.

Good Afternoon Everyone!

First I would like to say hello and that I'm really pleased to be able to join you all and learn more about Buddhism. I am very new to Buddhism and I have a few questions. I've looked around the site and have been reading various discussions, but I've not found similar posts or threads on some of the questions I have. I do apologise in advance though if I'm asking things that have been asked countless times previously.

I should probably begin with explaining where my interest in Buddhism started as I am somewhat worried about my motivation as I understand that Buddhist practice is centered quite a lot in our motivations. Initially it began with my interest in trying to 'right' or 'improve' some aspects of myself, I have problems with anxiety, worry, over-thinking and I often cause more problems for myself and my well-being due, in part, to some of these things. So I started looking around at calming tools and stumbled upon Mediation. Of course this led to looking into Buddhism. I started reading about the concepts and practices and found that so much of what was said, made so much sense to me. However I have become worried that my motivation to improve my own well-being through Buddhist practices would be negative motivation as it is for the self?