Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Distractions when Meditating

edited April 2014 in Meditation

I have recently moved to a new house that is right on a main road. The cars whizz by all day in a relentless rush-off-to-nowhere. I am finding the car noises very distracting when meditating. In fact, I am probably subconsciously cringing at the noise all the time, even when I am not thinking about it. Any advice? How should I relate to the car sounds and my aversion to them?

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran

relax - just be aware of the sound of the cars - don't think about it - till the time the sound is there, try to mindfully hear it - come back to your meditation object.

• CittaCitta Veteran

One tried and true way of dealing with distraction is 'labelling' ..

Your attention goes to the sound..dog, voices, or in your case, traffic.

You then say 'hearing..hearing...' quietly to yourself, then you return to the breath/mantram whatever.

Each time you are distracted you repeat 'hearing hearing ' and return..

At first you will find yourself doing as much labelling as meditating.

But over time the mind will learn not to distract you so much over that particular stimulus.

Its important to simply register the fact that you are hearing...not to turn into a story " that sounds like a big truck; I wonder where its going etc etc.."

Just 'hearing hearing.' no story , and no value judgement.

ChazJeffreyBarrammo
  • ChazChaz The Remarkable Chaz Anywhere, Everywhere & Nowhere Veteran

@thegoldeneternity said: