Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

First jhana

EarthninjaEarthninja WandererWest Australia Veteran

Hey guys! I don't have anybody to ask so I'm putting this out to you guys.

Has anybody had experience with the jhanas?
Today I had a weird experience, I'm incredibly dubious and fairly certain it's not a jhana because I've only doing Vipassana for 2 months.

Ok so I was meditating being mindfull of breathing. After about 30minutes my breath was very light. I still had thoughts popping up every maybe 4 breaths. Not sure but still frequent enough to know I'm not that experienced yet!
I noticed my lips were slightly pursed which was weird, I noted the lips to see if there was tension through concentration. As this happens a smile emerged and then a stupid grin. My heart started racing but I tried to return to breath. The grin remained and I could tell it wasn't me doing it. I did feel very lofty and happy. So much I almost teared up a little. It felt a little forced, as in my body was doing this. It came and went for about 5 minutes.
This next experience is something I've had before and possible unrelated, during this I also felt like I was sitting sideways, as in my head was parralell to the floor. Almost like I was on the wall...

I truly believe this is more likely a random experience or just placebo due to me reading about the jhanas. Maybe something subconcious?

Id like to hear your thoughts on this? More so from people who've actually experienced the jhanas. :)

Thanks guys! I hope this an appropriate question :)

Comments

• CittaCitta Veteran