Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Can something be understood?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

hi all,

if we try to be in here and now, then since the present moment is so small that it cannot be held, the question which arises is - can something be understood if we try to be in here and now? logically thinking the answer comes as no, because for understanding, thinking is needed and where is the time to think in here and now. may be i am asking a stupid question, but will like to know that if we try to be in present moment, then can something be understood?

moreover, how will wisdom arise, if we are in the present moment - without thinking anything? how will we know what is skillful and what is not skillful without thinking? can being in here and now be really practiced through even just half a day completely in reality, or may be even 1 hour - is it possible?

any ideas, please. thanks in advance.

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran

Actually since there is no smallest moment the here and now cannot be found. Yet there can be understanding outside space and time. Staying in the now can result in 'the watcher' which is just a layer of concepts. We can understand things because our mind is luminous. How can you think of what to say? The words just come out and it is an action of 'mind' rather than consecutive moments parsing out a sentence. How do you have a sentence 'come to you'?

karastiVictoriousBuddhadragon
  • lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited June 2014

can being in here and now be really practiced through even just half a day completely in reality, or may be even 1 hour - is it possible?