Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What are we supposed to do from Zen perspective?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2015 in General Banter

hi all,

i was trying to understand that as per Zen, what should we do in our lives?

the confusion is because Zen teaches that ultimately we cannot understand it, but only experience the (whatever you put here - truth, ultimate reality etc) - and then do not hold onto that experience even.

so are we supposed to just sit in zazen all the time - or are we supposed to act like zombies or robots who do not have any brain? as any how the brain is not going to be used - as understanding, thinking all these logical stuff will add to our confusion.

now somebody will say that while doing the activity, just do the activity. So if suppose i am sitting (not zazen, but sitting like in a park or after lunch), then what should i do - just sit and what to do with the mind - not try to make it blank, so then should we just open our 5 senses to just experience whatever is going on currently around us, without trying to analyze this experience - if this is, then how to do it because the mind tries to analyze the seeing which is happening, checking if we are in here and now, and also trying to be aware of the body and its sensations, try to be with body and in all these, there is thinking going on, which would make us not totally aware in the here and now.