Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Finding a Sangha to Join

WalkerWalker Veteran Veteran

I'm pretty new to Buddhism. I've been doing some fundamental meditation, breath awareness, and some 6-element practice occasionally. I've been doing some reading as well.

I haven't made any move about joining a sangha yet. I'm fortunate to have a wide a variety of options, living in a fairly large city. These are three that I'm interested in:

Chin Yin Buddhist Temple
This is a Vajrayana Sangha, True Buddha School

This one is local, I could even walk to the temple. Might be nice to get to know more people in my local community.

Edmonton Buddhist Meditation Group
This is a Soto Zen Group, Order of Buddhist Contemplatives

This one would be a bit of a drive to get to. I do have a strong interest in Zen. I have read some very unflattering reports about some of the groups in the order, especially in the U.S., but nothing about this group in particular.

Ratachadham Thai Buddhist Temple (Can't find a website for this group)
Looks to be Theravada

This one is pretty close, a bit farther away from home than the Vajrayana group.

I have no particular preference of any tradition as yet. I would appreciate any experience or advice any of you may have. Thanks.

Comments

• karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator