Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Where to begin?

Hi all,
I'm very new to all of this and I've joined here in hope of learning more about Buddhism. I've been reading a lot about Buddhism lately but I thing I'm stuck with is, where do I start? How do you 'start' on the eightfold path?

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited November 2015

It is up to you where to start. Maybe sample and experiment and see how what you are doing (eg reading, watching videos, meditating) seems the right place. Are there any Buddhist groups near you to visit?

• What do you think of this? I like it.

Without calmness of mind, it is very hard to have a sense of delight. Without this sense of delight, there is no genuine compassion. If we are totally preoccupied with our own experience - how I feel, what my problem is, and so forth - there is no chance at all for us to care about how others feel. There is simply no room for compassion.

~ Tsoknyi Rinpoche

Invincible_summer
  • Invincible_summerInvincible_summer Heavy Metal Dhamma We(s)t coast, Canada Veteran

This division of the parts of the path may be helpful:

The way I approach it is that meditation falls under the "mental development" part of the path. From the benefits of meditation, you can then engage the world with better refined "ethical conduct." Then "wisdom" eventually falls into place with time and practice.

It's like a great big feedback loop that begins with using meditation to cultivate an anchor to prevent the mind from leaping directly into unhelpful states.

But that's just how I see it, and I'm by no means a teacher or expert.

Kundo