Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Questions about the noble Truths.....

newlotusnewlotus Australia Explorer

I have just embarked upon learning about Buddhism and believe this may be the right path for me to follow. But I am have a few hesitations with the four noble truths. Mainly “2, We are the cause of our own suffering”.
My background is filled with abuse from a young age. I’m working through that but I need something else to hang onto and guide me. I was turned away from Christianity when my partner who frequently raped me said that it was ok because he would confess his sins and be forgiven. This lead me to shoot holes in the teachings I had learnt and I just could not believe in it any more.

A lot of what I have read on Buddhism rings true with me, except the 2nd noble truth. I can agree that our actions in the now impact on our future which can lead to suffering. But I’m also trying to find answers for my past and this is forming a contradiction for me.
I can see that the bad actions of the perpetrator have negatively impacted them - I dont seem them often, they know our relationship is shaky and deep down I think they know their failed in their role as a parent. But compared to what I suffer thats nothing! In my work also, I see people with impairments and disabilities who are abused and neglected. I need to find a reason that people hurt each other.
I would think that it is not accurate. But in light of the second noble truth, my abuse was caused by me. That is not accurate, and I don’t believe correct in relation to these teaching. But what way do I view this?

pegembaraCinorjer

Comments