Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Martial Arts and Buddhism - Is it acceptable?

BenjaminBenjamin England Explorer

I am new to Buddhism and consider myself Buddhist, particularly Therevada. I have a large interest in Martial Arts. Would it be acceptable for a Buddhist to take up the practice of Martial Arts with the purpose to use it for self discipline, learning a new skill, a hobby and using it in an emergency/self defence situation?

Comments

• JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran
    edited June 2016

There are lots of examples of martial arts in Buddhism, perhaps the most famous being the Shaolin Monks from the Chan ("Zen") Monastery of the same name. They train in Shaolin Kung-fu, the introduction of which is usually credited to Bodhidharma, the first patriarch of zen, although that story may be discredited. Anyway there is a long tradition of martial arts there. So I doubt whether Mahayana Buddhists would object.

What other streams of Buddhism think of it I am not sure, perhaps others can chime in with more knowledge? As long as you don't violate the precept on killing I doubt there would be a major problem.

lobsterBenjaminpersonyagr
  • JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

But also, does the practice of martial arts lead to the increase or decrease of vigour, proper conduct, patience, endurance and determination?

BenjaminRatBoyRuddyDuck9
  • BenjaminBenjamin England Explorer

Thank you for your comments, it helps a lot. Would a Buddhist of Therevada be able to practice a martial art such as Shaolin Kung Fu?