Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Genjokoan discussion

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited July 2016 in General Banter

Anybody interested in explaining Genjokoan's line - That myriad things come forth and experience themselves is awakening. - what does this line means? Please suggest. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• FosdickFosdick in its eye are mirrored far off mountains Alaska, USA Veteran
    edited July 2016

I can explain nothing (alas), but I was just reading "Returning to Silence" by Dainin Katagiri-roshi, and he touches briefly on this area.

There are several paragraphs, but the one most closely relevant to your question is probably this one:

" Zen Buddhism sees or hears or understands the world and human life as action that is constantly going on. Dogen Zenji particularly mentions that, under all circumstances, we should understand the human world in terms of the flow process and not in terms of concepts. The world we usually see is something already conceptualized. But if the world is present as something other than our conceptualization, we are very confused, because there is nothing to depend on. People usually depend, consciously or unconsciously, on their conceptualizations of the world. The Buddha and the ancestors tried to present the world before conceptualization. It is a little difficult to understand. But it is important that we taste it and understand it."

misecmisc1lobster
  • zenffzenff Veteran
    edited July 2016