Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Finding a teacher

ZaniaZania Explorer
edited September 2016 in Buddhism Basics

Sometimes I have moments of clarity and feel like I'm where I am meant be on "the path" but mostly I feel confused a lot. I tend to have a pile of dharma books, usually 5 or 6, that I voraciously read at the same time thinking that if I can just get all this information into my head then something will click and I will 'get it'.

It's not like I'm a beginner at this as I have been meditating twice daily for 5 or 6 years as well as attending some retreats and trying to attend sangha when possible but a lot of the time I feel like something isn't right. Like this practice that I'm doing is not changing anything or going anywhere. I don't feel happier I know that much.

I hear teachers speaking and writing of "insight" and how vipassana allows us to "see things as they are" etc. But when I sit I don't see much at all. It's like there is nothing much to see. Sometimes I feel a sense of spaciousness and stillness but most of the time it's just thought and some sensation. It really doesn't seem profound in any way. Is it supposed to? The way people speak it all sounds very profound and mystical and so I guess this has led me to expect something to happen, the penny to drop.