Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

ASMR

KannonKannon NAMU AMIDA BUTSUAch-To Veteran

I've been listening to ASMR for a few years now. I started listening when I began looking for ways to relax as I dipped into Buddhism.

A lot of us here are very interested in technology and new mediums of mindfulness. There's online Sanghas such as ours, meditation groups, guided meditation, mantras, and dharma talks at the tip of our fingers.

ASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response. Generally, if you've experienced it you'll know immediately what ASMR means once you look up the definition. If you don't know, you haven't experienced it. Most people remember first experiencing it in childhood; I did at doctor/dentist visits, jewelry counters, elementary school... Just a vague sense of relaxation stimulated by specific voices or sounds.

For some it is a purely physical sensation, relaxing and sleep inducing. As ASMR has grown, people have become more passionate and personal. Now people can reach kind words, comforting thoughts, and relaxing roleplays whenever they want.

I think this is very interesting, people sharing compassion with strangers for the purposes of falling asleep, helping with depression/anxiety, or simple relaxtion. Many ASMR creators share their own personalities, views, and stories to their audiences. There are real connections and emotions being made/shared, without (much) monetary or face value.