Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Fallibility and Dhamma

For many years, I studied and practiced and thought I understood. But then I broke some of the precepts through heedlessness and hurt others and myself. I realized I was not really heeding the heart of the Buddhadhamma. So I''ve recently taken the 8 Lifetime Precepts at the Therevadan monastery I go to and am redoubling my efforts. How do we work with our fallibility and and unwholesome errors in life without being dragged down by them? I suppose we must vow to begin anew in the present moment. Any kindred experiences of working with one's fallibility are welcome.

EarthninjaEvenThirdSnakeskin

Comments

• lobsterlobster Veteran

@Dhammika said:
    Any kindred experiences of working with one's fallibility are welcome.

Imagine saintly wisdom and perfectness = dharma douchebag.

Welcome to the Real World.
    Morpheus

[oops failed again] ... Isn't 'right on' part of the eightfold path ...

yagr
  • Straight_ManStraight_Man Gentle Man Veteran

Well, not saintly for me, but determined to keep trying and finding can progress along path that way.

yagrlobsterSnakeskin
  • ShoshinShoshin No one in particular Nowhere Special Veteran

@Dhammika
    Great expectation often come unstuck...It is best to chip away at ones conditioning little by little...

The 10% Advantage Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche

Snakeskin
  • lonehornrhinolonehornrhino west virginia New