Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Queries regarding calmness in meditation

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2017 in Meditation

Hi All,
2 queries regarding calmness in meditation please:
1. How important is it to have calmness in meditation with the goal to have insights developed in meditation, which can then lead to awakening? In my meditation, there is no calmness, rather I try to just observe what is coming into my mind and when I get entangled in thoughts, then I try to become aware of my breath.
2. From zazen perspective, how important is calmness – because as per Fukanzazengi, after giving physical sitting posture details, Dogen just says to think not-thinking. So I think there is no reference of calmness there – so the zazen which Dogen is referring to does not need to have calmness in it – can it be just the sitting and observing what is going on? If this is the case, then where are we headed to or what will be get finally after many sittings – because in each sitting it will be just sit and just observe what is occurring – so where would that thing which we call enlightenment happen in zazen?
So please suggest your views on the above queries. Thanks.

Snakeskin

Comments

• Good question. I am not sure but I would say if we produce some views on calmness and meditation nonetheless we shouldn't attach to views. I don't think meditation is an analysis space. But when you meditate regularly the mind from the beginning has a quality of knowing. Right now it is here like that. Right here apparent.

Snakeskin