Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Queries on Vegetarian Food

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2017 in Diet & Habits

Hi All,
I am currently in Australia and my family is in India currently. I am raising this thread to check for some queries related to vegetarian food. Nearly 6 years back, when I struck spirituality after reading Shreemad Bhagawad Geeta, then after that I stopped eating non-vegetarian food including meat and eggs. I eat vegetarian food including dairy products like milk, curd etc. This was going comfortably in India, as I had my family with me and since my wife is also vegetarian, so she cooked vegetarian food for me.

Now for the last 4 months, I am in Australia and here vegetarian food includes eggs.

The reason for me to stop eating non-vegetarian food was to not hurt other sentient beings.

A query which I have is: Does eating eggs (after buying eggs from supermarket) and eating things (which include egg as an ingredient) involves hurting to hens?

Here in Australia, I got a chance to visit a monastery – there I came to know about the eating schedule of monks, which was breakfast around 7am, lunch around 11am and then in evening around 6pm have tea with dark chocolates.