Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What does this mean?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited January 2018 in General Banter

Hi All,
In Bankei's teaching at URL https://terebess.hu/zen/mesterek/bankei.html of 'Do not get born', what does this mean? For example, if I see my toothbrush, then I should think that - 'This is a toothbrush.' and I should not think that - ' This is my toothbrush.' - is this the meaning of 'not to identify'? But thinking of a toothbrush as a toothbrush is also identification - is it correct? How to live life with this teaching of 'Do not get born'? Please suggest. Thanks.

Comments

• DavidDavid A human residing in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Ancestral territory of the Erie, Haudenosaunee, Huron-Wendat, Mississauga and Neutral First Nations Veteran

I read somewhere that in Tibet the way they say it would not be "I have a toothbrush" but instead "To me, there is a toothbrush".

Not sure if that's helpful.

• JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator

I believe it's referring to self-identification, a process by which the sense of 'I am' is born in relation to our experience, conditioned by, and further conditioning, craving and clinging. It's saying that using a toothbrush and calling it by its conventional designation can be done without clinging to it as 'my' toothbrush and the multiple narratives that this I-making and my-making can create. In essence, "these are the world's designations, the world's expressions, the world's ways of speaking, the world's descriptions, with which the awakened one expresses themselves but without grasping to them" (DN 9).