Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Labels and status

JaySonJaySon Florida Veteran

Do you ever think about how people strive for status? They put themselves through an immense amount of suffering for labels like "I am a doctor" or "I am a successful businessman."

Status is like the label on a soup can. Fundamentally it doesn't change the soup at all. Yet you could spend your whole life concerned with these labels and striving for them. You might even be willing to do unethical things to gain one of these labels.

Anyway, welcome to my brain. This is the kind of crap I think about often.

HozanCarameltail

Comments

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran

What occurs to me since you're bringing this up is that status is what the super rich are really trying to gain by accumulating more and more wealth. They've long surpassed the threshold for being able to spend more of it or of it adding any amount of meaning or happiness to their lives. But having a bigger number means a bigger status which carries some currency up in the clouds.

Carameltail
  • JaySonJaySon Florida Veteran

True. They are always in competition to gain higher labels of wealth and get insanely jealous of each other. They're also terrified of losing their current labels.

• lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited February 2018

@JaySon said:
    Do you ever think about how people strive for status?

I think about everything, in an empty sort of way ...

I am most concerned about my own status. I am more shell than big fish, increasingly irrelevant to the worldlings and their striving for suffering states of status. B)