Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How do you like to meditate? Why? Any advice for a newb?

LadyEmmaELadyEmmaE Shropshire, England New

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting my own thread on here so please be gentle with me. I am experiencing issues with my meditation practice, namely deep pain in the ankles and the inability to drift into "deep" meditation or even to stay meditating for longer than 10 minutes, sometimes less. Admittedly, I have only been practicing since late May of this year and my practice has not been consistent; though I have tried to meditate everyday, I have had breaks.

The way I sit for meditation is on a Buckwheat cushion, sat on top of a mat. The "position" I have been trying to do is the Burmese posture, however I find my poor ankles crying out in pain (one of which I am pretty sure still hasn't healed from a sprain I suffered about 15 years ago). My feet also love to fall asleep on me and cause great discomfort. For the past few days I have felt very frustrated during meditation due to the pain and the inability to get my monkey mind to concentrate on the breath. Today I tried the "seiza" position by turning the cushion on it's side and straddling it. Surprisingly, I felt little pain and even seemed to breath better! So I am investing in a seiza stool and seeing if that helps.

So I guess my question is, how do YOU like to sit? How long did it take for you to realize that was THE position for you? Also, any advice for a meditation newb?

Thank you!

Comments

• How do you like to meditate?

Daily. I tend to sit on the floor on a pillow/cushion.

Why?