Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Non-duality

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,
What does non-duality actually mean? Can a person live a worldly life from the point of view of non-duality? Thanks.

Jason[Deleted User]

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Yes, if you're not Buddhist, no if you are.

Non-duality means "not two" or "one undivided without a second". Nondualism primarily refers to a mature state of consciousness, in which the dichotomy of I-other is "transcended", and awareness is described as "centerless" and "without dichotomies".

I think you could safely say we have a way to go before we attain such a level.

You're asking questions again, wasting time that would be better spent addressing your immediate situation, rather than prevaricating and procrastinating, and distracting yourself from the essential.

BuddhadragonFoibleFull
  • JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

In general, you can treat those kind of writings as a kind of koan. You carry on washing the rice, chopping the wood and carrying water from the well in a mindful fashion, and then at a certain time you hope that wisdom matures.

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran