Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Happy Humbug ?

2»

Comments

• adamcrossleyadamcrossley Veteran UK Veteran

Finding it hard to feel the Christmas spirit this year. I work in a school in a deprived area, and I can’t help thinking life would be a lot easier for many parents without it. So much pressure to spend money. And for the kids, it just seems to encourage a consumerist worldview.

But then, it is supposed to be an ethical action to allow others to give gifts to you. It gives them a chance to create good karma.

I’m really considering giving up Christmas though. If my family want to get me a gift, perhaps they can donate to charity. That would make me so much happier than the dread of being given something I don’t need.

Zazen1JeroenVastmindShoshin
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

I think that's a good idea. Send out notices in September: