Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

"Greed", decadence, opulence.

Hi there everyone. I've been practising for about 18 months now, with an almost-daily 10 minute meditation practice (following mostly Theravadin teachings with a sprinkling of other bits and bobs from the other schools that I find helpful). I have always been a naturally frugal person, not eating more than I really need, not spending money just for the sake of it and have recently been shifting gradually to a vegan lifestyle. Recently my partner and I celebrated his birthday at a "Friday night feast" run by a well-known chef here in the UK, where you pay a set price and you're served several courses of food cooked using only the ingredients grown in a 5km radius, either on the property itself, and if not from very nearby. Whilst the food was beautiful, thoughtfully prepared and clearly produced in a very sustainable way (meat and fish was served, but from the farm itself or from the sea just down the road!) I am sad to say I spent the whole meal thinking "This is so unnecessary and greedy, to eat four courses of food where one would be perfectly enough". I was quite shocked by this reaction as previously, before starting my practice I would simply have sat there and thought "Wow, this is beautiful, healthy, local food, how wonderful!". And I find this first reaction echoes in other parts of life as well. I have become less internally tolerant of "wasteful" or "Greedy" attitudes and practices and I find that nearly every experience is tempered by over-analysis and what I think at the time is mindfulness but is actually probably just self-judgement or ju