Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Worrying

JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matterNetherlands Veteran

Dear friends,

Today in meditation I came across a mental space of ‘worrying’. It was like a blanket of worry that was being draped across my head. It dissipated after a while, or at least the blanket stayed but the feeling disappeared.

But it occurred to me that worry is something that has driven a lot of my life... I studied engineering so that I could help rebuild the world in case of a global disaster, I didn’t have children in part because of overpopulation, I focused on a career because of money worries. It seems to me that worry has played a key role.

How is your relationship with worry?

With warm regards,
Kerome

Shoshin

Comments

• JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

There are a few of these impulses... sleep is one of the things that suffers, I have been so worried on a few occasions that I couldn’t sleep. But then I have also been so angry once that I couldn’t sleep from it.

Bunks
  • personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran

I think there is probably a healthy amount of worry. I mean we should be worried that if we cross the street a car may hit us or that a pot on the stove may still be hot. That idea can be extended out into more complex instances in our lives, like making sure you can feed and house yourself. But as @federica says, if you can do something, do it. So at some level your actions were a case of doing something about it.